Zippers are my nemesis!  Oh you little evil things!

In actuality, the ones that exist on my sweatshirts and jackets I have mastered.  It’s the little bastards that exist on small bags like my travel shave kit and my growler carrier that are evil beings!

All kidding aside, you’re here to find out how to zipper your jacket one handed.  This is another technique that I had to figure out on my own.  Lets get to it…

I start by lifting the side of the sweater that has the zipper pull on it and pinching it between my chest and my chin.  Making it short allows me to see what I’m doing and also prevents the pull side from moving around to much as I insert the other side.

P1000905

Next I insert the other side in the normal fashion.

P1000906

I use my thumb and index finger to pull down on the side without the zipper pull and my middle finger to push up on the bottom of the pull to hold everything together.  While doing that I let go with my chin and lower the shirt.

P1000907

I stretch the shirt to get the sipper as straight as possible.

P1000908

Using my thumb and Index fingers on the zipper pull  and my middle and ring fingers to hold the shirt, I work the pull up the first couple of teeth.

P1000909

Then just work the zipper up repeating these last two steps.

P1000910

And here’s the obligatory video of the technique in action.

One thought on “Clothing Zippers

Leave a comment