…and any other ingredient you need for cooking.  (Ah, juvenile toilet humor, it never gets old)

So you live alone like me and you’d like a little more than frozen microwave dinners and take out.  That means cooking.  I am by no means a chef.  In fact I choke down quite a bit of awful tasting food because I’m marginal at best, but in the end, this isn’t about that.  It’s about dealing with living independently, sans arm.

So if you want to cook, there are several things that you’ll need to do that generally requires two hands.  This post is the first of a few posts about navigating the kitchen mano e mano. Well maybe just mano e nothing.

BTW: if you can’t tell, my Spanish is about as good as my cooking.  Hell my english ain’t so good to…      …and yes that was a smart ass joke for you grammar Nazis.

Ok, back to cooking (or something resembling it) one of the first things you’ll need to do is cut ingredients.  This post is about how I go about that.

I use a few different tools for the job.  Some of these are adaptive tools and some are not.

To start, I use a one handed cutting board.  This was a gift, but a quick Google search shows several different styles to choose from.   Mine has two stainless steel spikes and two sides.

P1000914

It has some suction cups on the bottom to help it stay put.

P1000940

I use mine in several ways.   The first obvious way is to impale your food on the spikes.  Here I’m cutting a sweet potato with a pairing knife.

P1000927

P1000928

P1000929

Some times it’s faster, with carrots, mushrooms and other items that you’ve already cut flat, to just use the spikes as way to keep the item still while you cut through it.

P1000934

By placing the food against the spikes and drawing the knife through it.

P1000936

The side walls are supposed to be used for cutting a sandwich in half, I don’t eat many sandwiches so I haven’t used it for that.  But I do use the side walls for other things.  For instance, when trying to get the last few beans out of the bottom of a can, I’ll put the can in the corner and use it to push against, like so.

P1000938

My dogs also like peanut butter filled bones, so I’ll clamp the bones to the board after washing them and use that to hold them steady for filling.

P1000939

In addition to the cutting board, I suggest a good set of kitchen shears.  I use these for getting in to bags of chips, opening microwave steamed veggie packets and other things like cutting herbs.

I also suggest, if you’re like me and you lost your right hand, get them in the lefty model.  You’ll probably have to order lefty scissors online.  I wasn’t able to find them locally and trying to use righty scissors lefty was an exercise in futility.

…And there was much cursing and gnashing of teeth…

P1000937

Another great tool for cutting is a rocker knife.  Another adaptive tool, these come in several styles.  I have several.  One I keep at my mother’s house when I’m in the mood for good food, not the slop I make.

Maybe I’ll get some home made manicotti if Mom’s reading this (Nudge nudge, wink wink)  BTW, the correct pronunciation as Lawn Guyland Italians say it is… mon-i-CAWW-tee..  There, that wasn’t so hard now was it?  But I digress….

I usually use the rocker knife for cutting thawed meat on the cutting board or the somewhat cooked meat at the dinner table.  As Mel Gibson said in Braveheart… “You can take my arm, but you’ll never take my taste for a nice rare steak!” Or was it something about freedom? Whatever….

This knife allows you to use downward pressure and a rocking action to cut through your dinner.

P1000925

P1000926

Lastly, in order to make using the cutting board easier, a sharp knife is imperative.  A sharp knife is a safer knife.  But be careful, as I’ve stated in other posts, you and I are already missing enough body parts, so pay attention and don’t blame me, I warned you….  Don’t be a dumb ass…

Anyway, to keep my knives sharp, I use an electric knife sharpener.  I got mine at the local warehouse club that sells peanut butter by the truck load.

..And there was much dog rejoicing at the sound of that in my house…

You just turn it on and if you’re a guy like me, you ruin a knife, swear, and THEN read the directions… Replace said ruined knife and sharpen away.

P1000941

More kitchen posts to follow….

Addendum….  I almost forgot…

One more cutting tool, for the bigger jobs, the cutting board can take too long.  For these things, like when I make 4 Gallons of my step fathers Hot Pepper salad recipe, I use a food processor.

P1000949

I made sure that the one I bought had suction cups to hold it in place..

P1000947

Ok, NOW there are more Kitchen posts to follow….

6 thoughts on “Cut the cheese…

    1. The cutting board is a good idea. I’ve been without my left arm all my life and the only vegetable that gives me grief are carrots…I hate peeling carrots and parsnips, I have no problem peeling or cutting any other vegetable. I don’t use any adaptive tools, I guess being without forever I have just “done” things that needed doing, sometimes the hard way…

      Like

      1. I suppose that just learning how to do something would be easier than re-learning.
        Regarding carrots (which are a stupidly difficult vegetable to peel and slice) have you ever used a mandolin slicer? It does away with the carrots’ the rolling factor at least.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Have you heard of a brand called Knork for silverware? They’re made for everyone so they are pretty easy to find, but they are really helpful for one handed eating.

    Like

Leave a comment