In keeping with my Kitchen theme. Here’s a little device I found at Bed Bath and Beyond that has worked wonders.  It’s a one handed paper towel holder.

Now I know that I could use one of those screw in holders, but they’re fixed.  When you’re cleaning, you have to keep running back to the kitchen.  This guy can be moved and taken with you and still allow for one handed use.

As an added benefit, they’re not “adaptive” meaning they won’t cost you an arm and a le….  well just an arm in my case…  And they’re readily available.

I also found you can order them online, if that’s your preferred method.  Here’s one on Amazon.

P1000918

I also found that it didn’t come with very good instructions (at least the one that I bought) so here is how I use it:

Start by pulling a sheet out and look for the perforations.

With the perforations near the top of the side bar, fold the towel down so that it’s nearly vertical.

P1000919

Then, continue adding pressure until the perforations start to separate.

P1000921

And continue to pull down until the towel comes off.

The real trick to this is getting the perforations at just the right spot to separate easily.  I find that the closer to the edge of the holder it is, the cleaner the tear will be.

As you can see, in my haste using the timer on my camera to take these pictures, I screwed one up.  When the side bar isn’t near a perforation, it has a tendency to punch a hole in the towel.

This holder can take a little practice to use, over a permanently fixed paper towel holder, but It makes up for it by being portable.

 

Leave a comment